The Rat Diaries

A blog to show you that rats might just be…not so bad, after all.

Resources and Information for Those Grieving a Lost Pet July 24, 2014

Over the years, when I’d stop for a moment and wonder what life would be like without Cricket, I saw myself being sad, but getting over the loss within a day or two. I thought losing a pet wasn’t a tremendously huge deal – when my goldfish Guppy died, I don’t think I even cried. You never hear about someone mourning a pet.
But now that Cricket’s actually gone, I feel…painfully empty. It’s been a week, and I still cry. The weird thing is, I never even felt all that close to Cricket. She was my dog. I pet her, she laid on my lap. Throw in a few occasional walks and that was it. But maybe I just felt that way because she was always there. It’s been forever since I’ve not had a dog, and I never realized how big a part of my life she had become. She was everywhere, and now that she’s gone, my house feels empty.
That first night, I found myself too upset to sleep. So I got online and looked around for anything to help me feel better. Below are some of the articles and Websites I found. If you’re dealing with the loss of a pet, too, I hope one of the links below gives you some comfort. As always, thanks for reading.

“Coping With the Death of Your Pet” on The Humane Society’s Website
“Many consider grieving inappropriate for someone who has lost ‘just a pet.’ Nothing could be further from the truth.”

“COPING WITH DEATH OF PET” on Recover-from-grief.com
“May you find comfort and understand your distraught feelings a little better after reading our pet loss page.”

“Coping with Pet Loss” on helpguide.org
“For many people a pet is not ‘just a dog’ or ‘just a cat.’ Pets are beloved members of the family and, when they die, you feel a significant, even traumatic loss.”

“Ten Tips on Coping with Pet Loss” on pet-loss.net
“Anyone who considers a pet a beloved friend, companion, or family member knows the intense pain that accompanies the loss of that friend. Following are some tips on coping with that grief, and with the difficult decisions one faces upon the loss of a pet.”

“The death of pet can hurt as much as the loss of a relative” on The Washington Post
“Researchers have long known that the animal-human bond is strong: A 1988 study in the Journal of Mental Health Counseling asked a group of dog owners to place symbols for their family members and pets in a circle representing each dog owner’s life….The subjects tended to put the dog closer than the average family member…”

Petloss.com
“Welcome to Petloss.com, a gentle and compassionate website for pet lovers who are grieving over the death of a pet or an ill pet. Here you will find personal support, thoughtful advice, The Monday Pet Loss Candle Ceremony, Tribute Pages, healing poetry, the Rainbow Bridge Poem & much more.”
*Just a heads-up: music starts playing automatically when you visit this site.

“Rainbow Bridge” on Petloss.com
“Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.”

070310 Angel w dog 8x8 raymar if

 

Feel free to leave a reply!

